There is a very dedicated core group of people who serve on the board of directors. Our meetings are held quarterly. Feel free to contact us with your ideas, concerns, and suggestions.

2018 Board of Directors

Jim Carroll ~ President “From an early age I had lots of outdoor experiences that ingrained in me a great respect for the natural world and how it inspires and sustains us. I have been blessed with the opportunity to work as a family doctor in Mitchell County since 1989, and have become familiar with the values that bind our communities together, as well the issues that divide us. My goal is that citizens of the Toe River Valley work together to protect the irreplaceable natural and cultural resources we enjoy today.”
Daniel Barron ~ VP “When I was growing up, I first became aware of conservation issues during 4-H meetings. I also went out one summer to “work” with Mr. Bryant who was the Soil and Water Conservation Agent who made me aware of many new-at-the-time efforts to preserve and protect our land and wildlife. At that time, you literally could walk across the Toe River on the yellow and gray sand that choked it. I also remember trying to fish in Cane Creek, but often the smell was more than we could deal with. We have made great strides since then, but the effort is certainly not fully accomplished and I’m proud and excited to be a part of taking the Toe and the surrounding area to the next safe and secure level for us and those who will follow.”


Starli McDowell ~ Secretary “My husband and I are avid river enthusiasts. Water quality and the recreational value of the watershed are my primary focus”
Holly Walker ~ Financial Assistant